Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Edition:
First edition.
Publisher, Date:
New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2019]
Description:
356 pages ; 24 cm.
Summary:
On a sunny fall morning, Shannon Blaine sets off on a jog along the rural roads near her home in Lake George, New York. It's her usual routine after dropping the kids off at school ... except on this day she never returns. The residents in the idyllic town are stunned. Could Shannon have just taken off, overwhelmed with the pressures of being the perfect wife and mother? Did a stranger snatch her? Or is her husband responsible? The hot new online magazine Crime Beat calls Bailey Weggins to cover the case, and it doesn't take long for her to see that it has far more suspects than she initially realized: a bitter sister, an unfaithful brother-in-law, an evasive deacon, and a creepy local motel owner. When an anonymous caller reaches out to Bailey with the cryptic clue that Shannon was a "good Catholic girl," it leads Bailey to the grisly discovery of the missing woman's body-but, stunningly, other bodies are there alongside hers.
Series:
Subjects:
Genre:
ISBN:
9780062886262 (hardcover)
System Availability:
1
Current Holds:
0
Control Number:
210666
Call Number:
M Whi
Course Reserves:
0
# System items in:
1
Availability
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Bailey Weggins (Female), Journalist, True-crime writer for a leading women's magazine; amateur sleuth; investigates the disappearance of a missing mother who went jogging
Genre
Fiction
Mystery
Suspense
Thriller
Topics
Missing persons
Husbands and wives
Mysterious disappearances
Small town secrets
Search for truth
Setting
New York - Mid-Atlantic States (U.S.)
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

Shannon Blaine leaves her Lake George, NY, home to go jogging one morning, and disappears. Because she's a beautiful blonde wife and mother, the search draws some media attention. When Bailey Weggins agrees to cover the disappearance for an online magazine, she feels the adrenaline rush of investigating a case again and teams up with Alice Hatfield, a local reporter. The two quickly develop a grudging respect for each other, and when Bailey receives an anonymous call, she trusts Alice enough to ask her to accompany her to an old retreat center. They then discover Shannon's body but also the bodies of two other people. Once the news breaks, Bailey and Alice realize that they might have drawn the attention of a serial killer. However, both reporters are determined to uncover the truth in this riveting mystery with layers of stories and crimes. A strong feeling of menace runs throughout this intricately plotted eighth book in the series, following Even If It Kills Her. VERDICT Readers who appreciate investigative reporters caught up in dramatic stories, such as James Ziskin's "Ellie Stone" series or Thomas Kies's "Geneva Chase" mysteries, will savor this intense page-turner that never lets up.-Lesa Holstine, Evansville Vanderburgh P.L., IN © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

Bestseller White's highly entertaining eighth Bailey Weggins novel (after 2017's Even if It Kills Her) takes Bailey on assignment for the online magazine Crime Beat to Lake George, N.Y., to look into the disappearance of 34-year-old Shannon Blaine. Shannon and her husband, Cody, a successful beverage distributor, seem to have had a perfect life-happily married, two darling children, respected in their idyllic community. As the police investigate where and how Shannon vanished one day on her morning run, Bailey seeks to learn what may have recently changed in the Blaine family. The one significant thing that Bailey uncovers is Shannon's recommitting herself to the Catholic Church. Bailey teams with local reporter Alice Hatfield, and both find cracks in the Blaines' lives that could have been a factor. The ethical and tenacious Bailey soon earns the respect of the local police, who come to see her as an ally rather than an intruder. Readers will cheer her every step of the way. Agent: Sandra Dijkstra, Sandra Dijkstra Literary. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

  Booklist Review

Crime reporter Bailey Weggins is known for becoming more involved in her stories than is healthy, as happens again when she covers the disappearance of a perfect wife for new online publication Crime Beat. Soon after 34-year-old Shannon Blaine vanishes on her routine morning run in Galena, Illinois, Bailey gets a voice-distorted call from the presumed perpetrator hinting at Shannon's location. So Bailey checks it out, joined by local reporter Alice Hatfield, with whom she's formed a relationship based on mutual respect. The two woman find three bodies, raising the possibility of a serial killer and, shockingly, raising suspicion that Shannon's husband, Cody, could be the culprit. When Alice finds a scary clue online and wants to wait to tell Bailey about it at dinner, mystery fans' apprehension will skyrocket, as the compelling plot, with multiple suspects, thunders to a conclusion. At the same time, Bailey worries about her live-in boyfriend, Beau Regan, who's in Colombia on business, adding nuance to their relationship and its possible future. One of the stronger entries in an always-entertaining series.--Michele Leber Copyright 2019 Booklist

  Kirkus Review

Intrepidand stylish!crime reporter Bailey Weggins finds herself on the front line of a murder investigation in White's (The Gutsy Girl Handbook: Your Manifesto for Success, 2018, etc.) latest.When news of missing jogger Shannon Blaine goes viral, Bailey heads to upstate New York to investigate and report for online magazine Crime Beat. Beautiful Shannon appears to have led an ideal life; she had a handsome, successful husband, two adorable kids, a condo in Florida, and a schedule flexible enough for the ritual of her daily jog. But of course there were also some red flags. She had recently started attending Catholic services after years of lapse, and her best friend noted that she seemed "kind of off" when they spoke early on the day of her disappearance. Then Bailey and local reporter Alice Hatfield get an anonymous tip that sends them to an abandoned Catholic retreat center where they discover Shannon's bodyas well as two otherswrapped in trash bags and hidden in a closet. Racing against time as the story cools, Bailey must discover the truth behind Shannon's perfect facadebefore the murderer decides to get rid of loose ends. There's not much depth to White's mystery or to Bailey, though she does suffer some loss during the course of the book, but it's fun and fast-paced, easy to read. Bailey is, in many ways, a 21st-century descendant of Edna Buchanan's crime reporter Britt Montero, who ran around Miami for her true-crime scoops. The setting may be colder, but like Britt, Bailey is fearless, determined, and always fashionable.A grown-up Nancy Drew for grown-up girl detectives. Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.
Summary
<p>New York Times bestselling author Kate White returns with a gripping story about a true-crime reporter uncovering the secrets that lie beneath the surface of a placid small town, perfect for readers of Jessica Knoll, Alafair Burke, and Liv Constantine.</p> <p>Blonde. Beautiful. A loving mother. And missing since Monday.</p> <p>On a sunny morning in late September, Shannon Blaine sets off for a jog along the rural roads near her home in Lake George, New York. It's her usual a.m. routine, her "me time" after dropping the kids off at school...except on this day she never returns.</p> <p>Is her husband lying when he says he has no clue where she is? Could Shannon have split on her own, overwhelmed by the pressures of her life? Or is she the victim of a sexual predator who had been prowling the area and snatched her before she knew what was happening.</p> <p>True crime writer Bailey Weggins, on assignment for the website Crime Beat, heads north from New York City to report on the mysterious disappearance. An anonymous tip soon leads Bailey to a grisly, bone-chilling discovery. Every town has its secrets, Bailey reminds herself, and nothing is ever as perfect as it seems. She keeps digging for answers until--when it's almost too late--she unearths the terrifying truth.</p>
Librarian's View
Book
2019

Add to My List