Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Edition:
First edition.
Publisher, Date:
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2018.
Description:
392 pages ; 25 cm
Summary:
"The latest in the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Dewey Andreas series. North Korea, increasingly isolated from most of the rest of the world, is led by an absolute dictator and a madman with a major goal--he's determined to launch a nuclear attack on the United States. While they have built, and continue to successfully test nuclear bombs, North Korea has yet to develop a ballistic missile with the range necessary to attack America. But their missiles are improving, reaching a point where the U.S. absolutely must respond. What the U.S. doesn't know is that North Korea has made a deal with Iran. In exchange for effective missiles from Iran, they will trade nuclear triggers and fissionable material. An exchange, if it goes through, that will create two new nuclear powers, both with dangerous plans. Dewey Andreas, still reeling from recent revelations about his own past, is ready to retire from the CIA. But he's the only available agent with the skills to carry out the CIA's plan to stop North Korea. The plan is to inject a singular designer poison into the head of the North Korean military and in exchange for the nuclear plans, provide him with the one existing dose of the antidote. But it goes awry when Dewey manages to inject a small amount of the poison into himself. Now, to survive, Dewey must get into North Korea and access the antidote and, while there, thwart the nuclear ambitions of both North Korea and Iran. And he has less than 24 hours to do so--in the latest thriller from Ben Coes"-- Provided by publisher.
Subjects:
Genre:
LCCN:
2018006500
ISBN:
9781250140760 (hardcover)
System Availability:
1
Current Holds:
0
Control Number:
197717
Call Number:
F Coe
Course Reserves:
0
# System items in:
1
Availability
Author Notes
<p> Ben Coes was born in 1966 in Hartford Connecticut. He is a New York Times best-selling author of political thriller and espionage novels. He attended Columbia College in New York City, where he was awarded the university's writing prize, the Bennett Cerf Memorial Award. He started his career as the White House speechwriter for former U.S. Secretary of Energy James D. Watkins under President George H.W. Bush. <p> His debut novel, Power Down, stars Dewey Andreas, who faces terrorists trying to destroy America by attacking its energy resources. His second book, Coup d'État, is the sequel to Power Down. Pakistan drops a nuclear bomb on India, and Dewey must stop the situation from escalating. Coes's third novel, The Last Refuge, features a joint covert U.S - Israel operation to penetrate Iran and stop the country from detonating a nuclear device inside Tel Aviv. His most recent book, Bloody Sunday, also made the bestseller list in 2018. <p> (Bowker Author Biography)
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Dewey Andreas (Male), CIA operative, Former U. S. Special Forces soldier who was kicked out of the military after being falsely accused of crimes he did not commit; mourning the murder of his fiance; hunting down a Russian computer hacker who has been routing large amounts of money to various Al Qaeda cells
Genre
Fiction
Thriller
Topics
Espionage
Threats
Emotions
Hostages
Terrorism
Intelligence service
Nuclear threat
Setting
Middle East - Asia
- United States
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

The eighth book in the "Dewey Andreas" series (after Trap the Devil) has an eerily timely setup: North Korean dictator Kim-Jong Un, dying of cancer, wants to attack the United States with a nuclear bomb. He sends his top general, Yong-sik, to Macau to buy long-range missiles from Iran. When American intelligence becomes aware of the impending deal, they recruit CIA special forces operative Dewey Andreas. The mission is straightforward: inject Yong-sik with a one-of-a-kind poison that will kill him within 24 hours. The antidote is hidden back in Pyongyang and will be delivered to Yong-sik if he transmits North Korean military secrets to U.S. intelligence. But things don't go smoothly, and Andreas is accidentally injected with a tiny bit of poison. His only hope: enter North Korea, make his way to a heavily guarded apartment in Pyongyang, and secure the second syringe of antidote. Coes presents Andreas as a conflicted hero whose quest for revenge against his wife's murderers leads him into some questionable territory morally, but he loves his country above all. The appealing combination of tense situation-room action and thrilling combat scenes allows readers to witness both behind-the-scenes intrigue and edge-of-your-seat military operations. VERDICT Readers of military and political thrillers will have a tough time putting this one down. [See Prepub Alert, 12/11/17.]-Nanette Donohue, Champaign, P.L., IL © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

A simple premise drives bestseller Coes's excellent eighth thriller featuring indomitable CIA agent Dewey Andreas (after 2017's Trap the Devil): North Korean Supreme Leader Kim Jong-un is dying of cancer. With less than a month to live, Jong-un decides to go out in a blaze of nuclear glory and take two American cities with him. All he needs is a couple of long-range missiles, and it so happens that his ally Iran is happy to supply them. Dewey has personal reasons for wanting to quit the spy business, but U.S. president J.P. Dellenbaugh talks him into staying on and dealing with the North Korean threat. CIA newcomer Jenna Hartford, on loan from MI6, has designed a mission to poison Gen. Pak Yong-sik, head of the North Korean armed forces, and force him to divulge Korean secrets in exchange for an antidote for the poison. It's a complicated mission, and in the end only Dewey has the skills, courage, and sheer badass tenacity to pull it off. A ticking clock ratchets up the tension in the best entry in the series so far. Agent: Nicole James, Chalberg & Sussman. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

  Booklist Review

Sunday is not the only thing that's bloody in the latest featuring CIA operative Dewey Andreas. He has decided to retire from the business, but, of course, he has to conduct the inevitable one last mission. North Korean leader Kim Jong Un is dying of cancer, and he decides he wants to go out in a blaze of glory by launching a nuclear strike on the U.S. A general in the North Korean military tries to work out the final pieces of the operation by striking a deal with Iran. Dewey must force the general to reveal what he knows, but how does he convince this loyalist to spill? By a bold operation that quickly goes south. Continuing to create stories that are both timely and exciting, Coes has written another outstanding black-ops thriller that holds readers with believable characters, a charismatic lead, and compelling narrative drive, much in the manner of Alex Berenson's John Wells novels.--Ayers, Jeff Copyright 2010 Booklist
Summary
<p> "Ben Coes' Bloody Sunday is a propulsive read with enough plot hooks, twists, and action to fill five thrillers. Fans of Brad Thor, Vince Flynn, and Tom Clancy will tear through Bloody Sunday and close the book counting the days till Dewey's next adventure." --Mark Greaney, New York Times bestselling author of Agent in Place <br> <br> The latest in the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Dewey Andreas series. </p> <p>North Korea, increasingly isolated from most of the rest of the world, is led by an absolute dictator and a madman with a major goal--he's determined to launch a nuclear attack on the United States. While they have built, and continue to successfully test nuclear bombs, North Korea has yet to develop a ballistic missile with the range necessary to attack America. But their missiles are improving, reaching a point where the U.S. absolutely must respond.</p> <p>What the U.S. doesn't know is that North Korea has made a deal with Iran. In exchange for effective missiles from Iran, they will trade nuclear triggers and fissionable material. An exchange, if it goes through, that will create two new nuclear powers, both with dangerous plans.</p> <p>Dewey Andreas, still reeling from recent revelations about his own past, is ready to retire from the CIA. But he's the only available agent with the skills to carry out the CIA's plan to stop North Korea. The plan is to inject a singular designer poison into the head of the North Korean military and in exchange for the nuclear plans, provide him with the one existing dose of the antidote. But it goes awry when Dewey manages to inject a small amount of the poison into himself. Now, to survive,Dewey must get into North Korea and access the antidote and, while there, thwart the nuclear ambitions of both North Korea and Iran. And he has less than 24 hours to do so--in the latest thriller from Ben Coes.</p>
Librarian's View
Book
2018

Add to My List