Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Edition:
First edition.
Publisher, Date:
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2018.
Description:
346 pages ; 25 cm
Subjects:
Genre:
Other Author:
LCCN:
2017037534
ISBN:
9781250130921 (hardcover)
System Availability:
1
Current Holds:
0
Control Number:
195712
Call Number:
F Hen
Course Reserves:
0
# System items in:
0
Availability
Author Notes
Greer Hendricks is an American author and editor, based in Manhattan. She is a graduate of Columbia University, where she earned a master's in Journalism while working at Allure magazine. Her work has also appeared in The New York Times and Publishers Weekly. From 1994-2014 she worked at Simon and Schuster first, as an assistant editor, then went on to become an editor. She edited numerous writers. That is where she met Sarah Pekkanen and became her editor. After leaving Simon and Schuster they decided to write a novel together. The Wife Between Us is their first collaboration and is Greer Hendrick's first novel. <p> (Bowker Author Biography)
Fiction/Biography Profile
Genre
Fiction
Suspense
Psychological
Topics
Obsession
Marriage
Secrets
Marriage
Jealousy
Love
Betrayal
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

It's human nature to assume; we all do. But this psychological thriller by first-time novelist Hendricks and best-selling author Pekkanen (The Perfect Neighbors) proves just how dangerous assumptions can be. -Nellie, a young teacher, has met the man of her dreams. Nine years her senior, Richard is charming, handsome, and wealthy. He pampers Nellie like a queen-until he doesn't. Nellie is constantly thrown off-kilter-is Richard manipulating things that happen between them? Reality and deception are woven into a strange pattern of twisted understanding. As the difference in how each perceives their marriage grows wider, so does their estrangement until Richard leaves Nellie for another woman. Or so everyone believes. Who is this younger, blonde version of herself? Nellie is compelled to stalk her around Manhattan like a jealous ex. Will this woman become her replacement? Verdict Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris's Behind Closed Doors and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives of this domestic thriller. [See Prepub Alert, 7/24/14.]-Kirsche Romo, Duncanville, TX © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

Hendricks, who spent more than 20 years as a book editor, joins forces with Pekkanen (The Best of Us) to create a jaw-dropping psychological thriller. Unreliable narrator Vanessa Thompson is obsessed with her ex-husband's fiancée and on the verge of becoming unhinged. She gave up everything-her job as a preschool teacher, her New York City friends-to have a fairy tale life in Westchester with too-good-to-be-true hedge fund manager Richard. After a series of failed fertility treatments, their marriage unraveled, and Richard leaves her for his younger assistant. Hendricks and Pekkanen chronicle a marriage gone wrong through the alternating accounts of the shattered Vanessa in the present and her vibrant younger self in the past. This is not another eye-rolling story about the jealous ex-wife stalking her replacement, as readers will discover as Vanessa's motivations are revealed. Unforgettable twists lead to shocking revelations all the way through the epilogue. 250,000-copy announced first printing. Agent: Victoria Sanders, Victoria Sanders and Associates. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

  Booklist Review

Notable women's-fiction author Pekkanen teams up with former editor Hendricks in this seamless thriller that will keep readers on their toes to the very end. At first glance, poor Vanessa appears desperate to stop the impending marriage between her ex-husband and his new young lover, Nellie. Richard is a powerful and demanding man, and Vanessa is determined to save Nellie from the fate Vanessa endured as a controlled trophy wife. But things aren't always as they seem. Is Vanessa crazy or cunning? What's her endgame? And is Nellie who is suspiciously similar to Vanessa in both looks and supposed background as innocent as she comes across? What is Richard really after in all of this? To say anything more about the myriad plot twists, red herrings, and unreliable narrators would give it all away. Readers will enjoy the dizzying back-and-forth as they attempt to figure out just who to root for and as the suspense ratchets up to one hell of a conclusion.--Vnuk, Rebecca Copyright 2018 Booklist

  Kirkus Review

An angry ex-wife is stalking a young, innocent fiancee who is a carbon copy of her former selfor so it seems.The use of a multiviewpoint, chronologically complex narrative to create suspense by purposely misleading the reader is a really, really popular device. Two words: Gone Girl. While we are not the fools we once were and now assume immediately that we are being played, the question is whether we still take pleasure in the twists and revelations that follow. Pekkanen (The Perfect Neighbors, 2016, etc.) and Hendricks' debut collaboration falls into the first wife/second wife subgenre of this type of story (e.g., The Girl Before, The Last Mrs. Parrish). In all of these, an unbelievably handsome, wildly successful, secretive, rigid, orderly, and controlling husbandhere it's Richard, a 36-year-old hedge fund manager with "a runner's wiry build and an easy smile that belied his intense navy-blue eyes"marries the same type of woman more than once, sometimes more than twice. Of course, he's not who he seems. Perhaps the female characters are not, either. Here, we meet Nellie, an adorable New York preschool teacher who is not quite sure she wants to give up the fun, shoestring, highly social lifestyle she shares with her roomie to move to a sterile suburb with Richard. But the wedding dateof course he hasn't even told her the location, just "buy a new bikini"draws ever closer. Something bad happened to Nellie in Florida a long time ago that has made her anxious and hypervigilant. Meanwhile, Vanessa, the spurned wife, lives with her artist Aunt Charlotte (a great character), is boozing heavily, and is about to lose her job at Saks. She's stalking Nellie, determined to prevent the marriage at all costs. Since you know there's got to be more to it than this, the fun is in trying to figure it out before they tell you. We didn't! One of the subplots, the one about the bad thing in Florida, was fresher than the main plotmaybe Hendricks and Pekkanen should have written a whole book about that.Easy to read, smoothly put together. A good airport book. Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.
Summary
<p> The instant New York Times Bestseller (January 2018)! <br> <br> "A fiendishly smart cat-and-mouse thriller" -- New York Times Book Review <br> <br> "Buckle up, because you won't be able to put this one down." -- Glamour <br> <br> "Jaw dropping. Unforgettable. Shocking." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) <br> <br> "The best domestic suspense novel since Gone Girl ." -- In Touch Weekly </p> <p>When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.<br> You will assume you are reading about a jealous ex-wife.<br> You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement - a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.<br> You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.<br> Assume nothing.</p> <p>Twisted and deliciously chilling, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.</p> <p> Read between the lies. <br> <br> A 2018 Indie Next Pick | One of Glamour Magazine's Best Books of 2018 | One of Hello Giggles' 19 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018 </p> <p> Praise for The Wife Between Us: <br> <br> "Fiendishly clever ...in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing. " --Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire </p> <p>"A clever thriller with masterful twists. " - Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman </p> <p>" The Wife Between Us delivers a whip smart, twisty plot in a taut, pacy narrative. It's terrific and troubling. This is one scary love triangle where you won't know who to trust. I loved it." -Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew </p> <p>"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters ; this book will keep you turning the pages and guessing until the very end. A must-read!" -Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada <br> <br> "This amazing story gallops along at breakneck speed, with an ending that smacks you between the eyes and takes your breath away. These authors are destined to become trail blazers in the field of psychological suspense books that explode in your hands!" --Nancy Simpson-Brice, Book Vault </p> <p>"Like a house of mirrors, The Wife Between Us kept me guessing around every corner, delving into the complexities of marriage, friendship, and obsession. " --Javier Ramirez, The Book Table </p>
Librarian's View
Book
2018

Add to My List