Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Edition:
First Kensington Hardcover Edition.
Publisher, Date:
New York, NY : Kensington Books, [2018]
Description:
362 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
In death, Didi Storm is finally getting the kind of publicity that eluded her in life. Twenty years ago, the ex-beauty queen worked the Vegas strip as a celebrity impersonator, too busy trying to make it big to spare much time for her daughter, Remmi. Shortly before she leaped from a San Francisco building, Didi's profile was rising again, thanks to a tell-all book. To Detective Dani Settler, it looks like a straightforward suicide, or perhaps a promotional stunt gone wrong. But Remmi knows the truth isn't so simple. Because though the broken body on the sidewalk is dressed in Didi's clothes and wig, it isn't Didi. Remmi was fifteen when she last saw her mother. Their parting came in the aftermath of a terrible night in the Mojave desert when Remmi - who'd secretly stowed away in Didi's car en route to meet her crush, Noah Scott - instead became witness to a mysterious rendezvous. Didi handed over one of her newborn twins to a man Remmi didn't recognize. Subsequently, Didi disappeared, as did Remmi's other half-sibling. Remmi has pleaded with the authorities to find them, but there have been no clues. Yet she's always had the sense that someone is watching her... If the victim isn't Didi, who is it - and what's the connection? Remmi is shocked when Noah resurfaces. He was also in the desert that night, and now runs his own PI firm. He too believes it's time to find out what really happened. As they and Detective Settler dig deeper, the truth about Remmi's missing family begins to emerge... a story of ruthless ambition and twisted lies that someone will kill again and again to keep hidden.
Subjects:
Genre:
LCCN:
2018932830
ISBN:
9781617734670 (hardcover)
System Availability:
2
Current Holds:
0
Control Number:
194625
Call Number:
F Jac
Course Reserves:
0
# System items in:
1
Availability
Author Notes
Romance author Lisa Jackson grew up in Oregon. She graduated from Oregon State University and started working in the banking/investment industry. In the early 1980s, she stopped working in order to become a stay-at-home mom and started writing romance novels at the suggestion of her sister and fellow romance author Nancy Bush. She published her first novel, A Twist of Fate, in 1983. Her books regularly appear on the New York Times, USA Today and Publisher's Weekly bestseller lists. In April 2011 Lisa Jackson's title Devious hit the Publisher's Weekly bestseller list and in Aug 2012 her title You Don't Want to Know made The New York Times Best Seller List. In 2014 she continued this trend with her book, Close to Home. <p> (Bowker Author Biography)
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Didi Storm (Female), Police detective, Mother, Ex-beauty queen; worked as a celebrity impersonator; daughter committed suicide;
Genre
Fiction
Mystery
Suspense
Topics
Missing persons
Mothers and daughters
Greed
Deception
Serial killers
Murder investigations
Setting
San Francisco, California - West (U.S.)
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

In the Mojave Desert, 15-year-old Remmi Storm observed her Vegas showgirl/celebrity impersonator mother, Didi, exchanging money for one of her newborn twin half siblings. The next day, her mother and other sibling disappeared without a trace-until 20 years later when Remmi witnesses a woman who resembles her mother in full Marilyn Monroe regalia leap to her death from a San Francisco building. Could the recently published tell-all book about Didi's life and the mystery surrounding her disappearance be connected? A shaken Remmi, convinced that the victim isn't her mother, heads to the SFPD to talk to the detectives in charge of the case, unaware of the Pandora's box that just opened. Jackson's (One Last Breath) latest offering is a fabulous fast-paced, tightly plotted thriller with so many twisty angles, no Vegas bookie would make odds. The character development is superb, and the police investigation and Remmi's need for answers ring true. The author's managing of the past and present separately is an effective method of clue dangling to keep readers in the dark until the huge OMG reveal. VERDICT Fans of Lisa Gardner, Paula Hawkins, and J.T. Ellison will devour this one-sitting nail-biter.-Debbie Haupt, St. Charles City-Cty. Lib. Dist., St. Peters, MI © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

Twenty years after celebrity impersonator Didi Storm disappeared in Las Vegas with her young twins, abandoning her teen daughter Remmi, a woman dressed to look like her jumps to her death from a San Francisco building in this twisty, suspenseful romantic thriller from bestseller Jackson (Ruthless). The apparent suicide of Didi's look-alike, which Remmi witnesses, follows the publication of a true crime tell-all chronicling the events of Didi's disappearance. With the help of her long-ago flame, Noah, Remmi desperately attempts to uncover what happened to both her vanished mother and her twin siblings all those years ago, while Det. Dani Settler with the SFPD reopens Didi's cold case. Their separate investigations reveal a tangled web of lies, money, and familial betrayal. As Remmi gets closer to Noah and narrows in on the truth of her past, an unnamed marksman hunts her in her present. The many threads of this action-packed, female-driven mystery are tied together by the mesmerizing, larger-than-life character of Didi Storm, who haunts the book to its final pages. Agent: Robin Rue, Writers House. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

  Booklist Review

Fame came 20 years too late for Didi Storm. While Didi enjoyed a modicum of notoriety working as a celebrity impersonator in Las Vegas, she never broke through to the top tier of fame. Then she vanished one night after a mysterious explosion in the desert outside Las Vegas, leaving her daughter, Remmi, without a clue as to her whereabouts. Now, decades later, a scandalous tell-all biography of Didi, along with the suicide leap of a woman everyone thought was Didi but who was, eerily enough, someone impersonating her, has brought Didi back into the spotlight. As Remmi and SFPD detective Dani Settler begin searching for evidence explaining what exactly happened to Remmi's mother, they discover that the trail leads all the way back to that dark and deadly night in the Mojave Desert. Best-selling Jackson jam-packs the plot of her latest nail-biting novel with plenty of unexpected twists and turns, making Liar, Liar a terrific choice for readers who enjoy their literary adrenaline fixes on the darker side of the suspense spectrum.--Charles, John Copyright 2010 Booklist
Summary
In this riveting page-turner from #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jackson, a woman searches for the mother she hasn't seen in twenty years, and uncovers a nightmare of greed and deception . . . <br> <br> In death, Didi Storm is finally getting the kind of publicity that eluded her in life. Twenty years ago, the ex-beauty queen worked the Vegas strip as a celebrity impersonator, too busy to spare much time for her daughter, Remmi. Shortly before she leaped from a San Francisco building, Didi's profile was rising again, thanks to a tell-all book. To Detective Dani Settler, it looks like a straightforward suicide, or perhaps a promotional stunt gone wrong. But Remmi knows the truth isn't so simple. Because though the broken body on the sidewalk is dressed in Didi's clothes and wig, it isn't Didi.<br> <br> Remmi was fifteen when she last saw her mother. They parted in the aftermath of a terrible night in the Mojave desert when Remmi--who'd hidden in Didi's car en route to meet her crush, Noah Scott--instead witnessed Didi handing over one of her newborn twins to a strange man. Then Didi disappeared, as did Remmi's other half-sibling. The authorities have found no clues. Yet Remmi has always sensed that someone is watching her . . .<br> <br> Remmi is shocked when Noah resurfaces. He was also in the desert that night, and now runs his own PI firm. He too believes it's time to find out what happened. As they and Detective Settler dig deeper, the truth about Remmi's missing family begins to emerge--a story of ruthless ambition and lies that someone will kill again and again to keep hidden . . .
Librarian's View
Book
2018

Add to My List