Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Edition:
First edition.
Publisher, Date:
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2018.
Description:
408 pages ; 25 cm
Subjects:
LCCN:
2017060314
ISBN:
9781250119490 (hardcover)
System Availability:
3
Current Holds:
0
Control Number:
194545
Call Number:
F Del
Course Reserves:
0
# System items in:
3
Availability
Author Notes
Barbara Delinsky was born on August 9, 1945 in suburban Boston. She received a B.A. in psychology from Tufts University and an M.A. in sociology from Boston College. After graduate school, she worked as a researcher with the Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children. After her first child was born, she worked as a photographer and reporter for the Belmont Herald. <p> She has written more than 60 novels including Shades of Grace, Coast Road, While My Sister Sleeps and Not My Daughter. Some of her novels have been made into television movies including Three Wishes starring Valerie Bertinelli and A Woman's Place starring Lorraine Bracco. She wrote the nonfiction book Uplift: Secrets from the Sisterhood of Breast Cancer Survivors. She has also written under the pen names Bonnie Drake and Billie Douglass. <p> Barbara's novels, Blueprints and Sweet Salt Air, made the New York Times bestseller list in 2015. <p> (Bowker Author Biography) Barbara Delinsky lives in Massachusetts. <p> (Publisher Provided) Since the 1980s, Barbara Delinsky has published more than sixty novels including, most recently, "The Vineyard", "Lake News", "Coast Road", "Three Wishes", "More Than Friends", & "Suddenly". Published in seventeen languages worldwide, her books regularly appear on "The New York Times", "The Wall Street Journal", "The Washington Post", "The Boston Globe", & "Publishers Weekly" bestseller lists. Born & raised in suburban Boston, Delinsky lives in Needham, Massachusetts. <p> (Publisher Provided) Barbara Delinsky has a B.A. in psychology from Tufts University and an M.A. in sociology from Boston College. Her bestselling novels include "Coast Road", which featured a heroine who was a breast cancer survivor. She serves on the Massachusetts General Hospital Women's Cancer Visiting Committee. <p> (Publisher Provided)
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Maggie Reid (Female), Makeup artist, Born Mackenzie Cooper; lost her daughter, marriage, family and friend as a result of a car accident; moves to Vermont; changes her name; starts a new life
Genre
Fiction
Domestic
Topics
Mothers and daughters
Automobile accidents
Loss
Family tragedy
New beginnings
Secrets
Friendship
Loyalty
Setting
Vermont - New England (U.S.)
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

In her deeply moving latest, Delinsky (The Woman Next Door) follows one woman's journey of self-discovery as she learns to face the ghosts of her past. In a moment of distraction, Mackenzie Cooper accidentally ran a stop sign and caused the death of her five-year-old daughter, Lily, as well as the demise of her marriage. Shortly after, she moves from Massachusetts to the quaint town of Devon, Vt., where she goes by Maggie Reid, and, having abandoned her sculpting career, works at the Devon Inn and Spa as a makeup artist. She is constantly reminded of the accident by the scar on her forehead, which she carefully conceals, as well as the frequent meetings with her probation officer following her high-profile criminal conviction. Despite her probation officer's warnings to distance herself from suspected criminals, Maggie provides emotional support for her friend Grace and Grace's son, Chris, who is arrested for computer hacking. Maggie's involvement thrusts her back into the media's spotlight. Her reinvented life is further threatened when her ex-husband, Edward, moves to Devon and buys the Devon Inn. Delinsky's novel expertly explores the depths of Maggie's guilt and redemption, as she learns not only how to find closure from the tragedies of the past but to forge a future in which she can forgive herself. This is a rewarding, emotionally intense novel. 250,000-copy announced first printing. (June) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

  Booklist Review

Five years ago, Mackenzie Cooper took her eyes off the road for a split second and caused a crash that killed her daughter, Lily. Now she lives as Maggie Reid in sleepy Devon, Vermont, where folks accept her as a generous friend, talented potter, and make-up artist for the upscale spa at the inn without asking about her past. When the new owner of the inn turns out to be her ex-husband, Edward, she panics. But Edward's motivations are not sinister. He never stopped loving Mackenzie, but perhaps he hasn't fully dealt with Lily's death, either. Then Maggie's best friend Grace's teenage son is accused of hacking, and it looks like Grace has been hiding a past of her own. With a bucolic New England setting and an emotional story that plumbs depths without feeling too heavy, Delinsky (Blueprints, 2015) perfectly portrays the temptations of starting over and, in Edward, the necessity of being found again. This story of a competent woman realizing she deserves the perfect guy standing before her will appeal to readers of Nora Roberts and Elin Hildebrand. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: A major advertising campaign targeting libraries, blogs, and book clubs will drop just in time for the beach-read season.--Maguire, Susan Copyright 2018 Booklist

  Kirkus Review

A young woman loses her daughter in a car accident and struggles to build a new life for herself in the aftermath of tragedy.Mackenzie Cooper was driving her 5-year-old daughter to a play date when she missed a stop sign and collided with another car, killing both the other driver and her own daughter. A few years later, after Mackenzie has been divorced by her husband, dropped by her friends, disowned by her mother, and dragged through the mud by the press, she has finally created a quiet existence for herself. She lives in the sleepy town of Devon, Vermont, with two cats and a dog and works as a makeup artist at the spa in a local inn. She's changed her name to Maggie Reid, and almost no one in Devon knows about the accident or the probation officer who's been keeping tabs on her since that fateful day. Everything changes for Maggie the day her new friend Grace's son is criminally charged with high-profile computer hacking, bringing the press swarming to Devon and dredging up many painful memories for Maggie. Worse yet, when Maggie accompanies Grace to meet with an attorney, they bump into Maggie's ex-husband, Edward. Maggie learns that Edward has purchased the inn where she works, and he is moving to Devon. As Edward reaches out to Maggie with one overture after another, it quickly becomes apparent that the inn is not the only reason her ex was drawn to this particular town. Before she can reconcile with Edward, however, Maggie must find a way to accept the person she was before the accident and forgive herself for her past. Through a fast-paced and accessible narrative voice, Delinsky tackles many weighty issues in this complicated tale of friendship, loss, love, and redemption.A tale about surmounting life's most difficult moments and finding hope when one least expects it. Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.
Summary
<p> From Barbara Delinsky, the New York Times bestselling author of Blueprints and Sweet Salt Air , a brand-new novel about a woman in hiding finding the courage to face the world again. </p> <p>Mackenzie Cooper took her eyes off the road for just a moment but the resulting collision was enough to rob her not only of her beloved daughter but ultimately of her marriage, family, and friends--and thanks to the nonstop media coverage, even her privacy. Now she lives in Vermont under the name Maggie Reid, in a small house with her cats and dog. She's thankful for the new friends she's made--though she can't risk telling them too much. And she takes satisfaction in working as a makeup artist at the luxurious local spa, helping clients hide the visible outward signs of their weariness, illnesses, and injuries. Covering up scars is a skill she has mastered.</p> <p>Her only goal is to stay under the radar and make it through her remaining probation. But she isn't the only one in this peaceful town with secrets. When a friend's teenage son is thrust into the national spotlight, accused of hacking a powerful man's Twitter account, Maggie is torn between pulling away and protecting herself--or stepping into the glare to be at their side. As the stunning truth behind their case is slowly revealed, Maggie's own carefully constructed story begins tounravel as well. She knows all too well that what we need from each other in this difficult world is comfort. But to provide it, sometimes we need to travel far outside our comfort zones.</p> <p>From a multimillion-selling master of women's fiction, Before and Again is a story of the relationships we find ourselves in--mothers and daughters, spouses and siblings, true companions and fair-weather friends--and what kind of sacrifices we are or aren't willing to make to sustain them through good times and bad.</p>
Librarian's View
Book
2018

Add to My List